Connect with us


U.S., E.U., Canada and Britain Announce Sanctions on China Over the Abuse of Uyghurs



Share with friends

The United States, the European Union, Britain and Canada each announced sanctions against China over human rights abuses in Xinjiang, a coordinated effort aimed at holding Beijing accountable for a years-long campaign against Uyghurs and other minority groups in the northwestern Chinese region.

The diplomatic push, announced Monday, comes just after a tense meeting between U.S. and Chinese officials and amid growing calls for democracies to work together to take on an increasingly authoritarian and assertive Beijing.

The E.U. was first to move, saying early Monday that it would hit four Chinese officials and a public security bureau with travel bans and asset freezes — its most significant measures since an arms embargo following the 1989 killings in Tiananmen Square.

China quickly responded, leveling similar measures against a list of its European critics.

Read More →

Continue Reading
Advertisement GVwire